School of Music

Percussion Ensemble

The CSU Percussion Ensemble (MUS 106/506, Sec. 71) is an elective performance ensemble in the Department of Music at Cleveland State University in Cleveland, Ohio. It is dedicated to the thoughtful performance of music for the modern percussion ensemble. Repertoire includes contemporary works, classics of the genre, and transcriptions from all musical periods. The members of the ensemble include graduate and undergraduate percussion majors from all areas of emphasis. (Non-music major membership will be considered by audition only.) Bruce Golden, Lecturer of Percussion, directs the CSU Percussion Ensemble. He brings many years of Percussion Ensemble experience to the group having directed ensembles at the University of Toledo and Cleveland State University as well as having performed with a variety of Percussion  Ensembles.


Bob Becker Mudra
Carlos Chavez  Toccata
Elliot Cole Postludes
Zez Confrey Dizzy Fingers
Paul Creston Ceremonial Opus 103
Dennis DeSantis Shifty
Brett William Dietz Sharpened Stick
Tom Gauger Portico
Tom Gauger  Gainsborough
G.H. Green The Hummingbird
Jennifer Higdon Splendid Wood
Paul Lansky Threads
Dan Levitan Conservatory Gardens
Dan Levitan Marimba Quartet
Minoru Miki Marimba Spiritual
Don Miller Five Short Pieces
Mozart/Musser Marriage of Figaro
Rich O’Meara jh Variations
Mitchell Peters A La Nanigo
Dafnis Prieto The Guiros Talk
Steve Reich Drumming
Ney Rosauro Samba
Christopher Rouse Ogoun Badagris
Joe Tompkins Blue Burn