History Department

Faculty and Staff

Faculty Profiles

Faculty:

Name Office Phone (216) Email Research Interests
Thomas L. Bynum
Associate Professor, Black Studies Director

MC 137

523.7211

African American History, Civil Rights Movement, Youth Activism, and Antiwar Protest

Mark Cole
Associate College Lecturer
RT 1306 687.3937
Germany, Nazism, The Holocaust, Consumption, and Nutrition
Gregory Conerly
Associate Professor
RT 1312 687.3928
African American History, Gender/Sexuality/LGBTQ Communities in the U.S.
Stephen Cory
Professor
RT 1327 687.6883
Early Modern Islamic World, Modern Middle East

Thomas J. Humphrey
Associate Professor, Chair

Interim Chair, Department of Philosophy & Comparative Religion

RT 1320 687.3920
Colonial and Revolutionary America
Wenqing Kang
Associate Professor
RT 1305 875.9688
Gender and Sexuality in China
Elizabeth A. Lehfeldt
Professor, Dean of Jack, Joseph & Morton Mandel Honors College
MC 106 687.5559
Late Medieval/Early Modern Europe, Gender History
Meshack Owino
Associate Professor
RT 1357 523.7264
Africa
Shelley Rose
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Director, Social Studies
RT 1323 687.3935
German history, Social Studies, gender history
Robert S. Shelton
Associate Professor
RT 1321 523.7183
19th Century American History, Civil War and Reconstruction, African American History
Jose O. Sola
Associate Professor
Graduate Director
RT 1356 523.7189
Modern Latin America, Colonialism and Imperialism, Popular Culture
Karen Sotiropoulos
Associate Professor
RT 1328 687.3940
African American History, American Cultural, Gender, and Feminist History
J. Mark Souther
Professor
RT 1310 687.3970
Public History, U.S. Urban History, Tourism, 20th Century United States History
Laura A. Wertheimer
Associate Professor,
Director of Undergraduate Studies
RT 1329 687.3930
Medieval European, Ancient Mediterranean
Kelly Wrenhaven
Associate Professor
RT 1325 687.3927
Ancient Greek and Roman History
Adjunct Professors:
Kim Carey || 216.687.5118 || K.CAREY@csuohio.edu
Matthew Coate || 216.687.3900 || m.coate@csuohio.edu
Samuel Prescott Duncan || 216.687.3920 || s.p.duncan@csuohio.edu
Peter Manos || 216.687.7186 || P.MANOS@csuohio.edu
Matthew Phillips || 216.687.3920 || m.t.phillips44@csuohio.edu
Tamara Rand || 216.687.7191 || T.RAND@csuohio.edu
Ben Sperry || 216.687.3920 || b.sperry@csuohio.edu
Donna M. Whyte || 216.875.9684 || D.WHYTE@csuohio.edu
Emeritus:
David Adams, Professor
216.687.3920 || D.ADAMS@csuohio.edu
James A. Borchert, Professor
216.687.3920 || J.BORCHERT@csuohio.edu
David J. Goldberg, Professor
216.523.7187 || D.GOLDBERG@csuohio.edu
Thomas L. Hartshorne, Associate Professor
216.687.3920 || T.HARTSHORNE@csuohio.edu
Lee A. Makela, Associate Professor
216.687.3920 || L.MAKELA@csuohio.edu
Roger B. Manning, Professor
216.687.3920 || R.MANNING@csuohio.edu
Joyce M. Mastboom, Associate Professor
216.687.3920 || j.mastboom@csuohio.edu
Deborah D. Pearl, Professor
216.687.3920 || D.PEARL@csuohio.edu
Donald Ramos, Professor
216.687.3920 || D.RAMOS@csuohio.edu
Robert A. Wheeler, Associate Professor
216.687.3920 || R.WHEELER@csuohio.edu
Department Staff:
Erin Bell, Project Coordinator, Center for Public History + Digital Humanities
216.687.2172 || E.J.BELL93@csuohio.edu
Carolyn Kinkoph, Administrative Secretary
216-687-3920 || c.kinkoph@csuohio.edu